Sign up for my blogging email list!

How to Apply the 5 Love Languages to your Relationship

How to Apply the 5 Love Languages to your Relationship

The 5 Love Languages is a book by Gary Chapman, take a look how to apply the 5 Love Languages to your relationship.

Words of Affirmation

“I love you” “You’re my best friend” “You have such a kind heart”

Use words of affirmation to show appreciation and encourage your loved one. Or saying something affirming to your loved one or doing something encouraging for them daily.

Be active with your affirmation. Let them now that they’re special, valued, and that you don’t take them for granted.

Physical Touch

Red Pandas Cuddling

Physical touch is a powerful way to communicate love. This doesn’t just mean sex, holding hands, kissing, unexpected hugs, and sitting close. It only takes a moment but the warmth your partner feels will strengthen their bond.

Acts of Service 

A person who has this love language enjoys having their spouse complete tasks for them. This doesn’t just mean doing chores it means pampering your spouse, making life more comfortable. Making them feel appreciated by serving them.

Quality Time 

Quality time is defined as “giving someone your undivided attention.” Quality time can be a quiet dinner together, spending the night together, or by simply turning off your device.

Take a daily or weekly ritual for just you two. Take some time together and focus on one another.


wrapped gift box

A gift is a token of love. Use gifts to remind  your loved one that you were thinking about them. Buying a gift is easy it’s the thoughtfulness and intention behind the gesture makes it special.


If you like this article on the 5 Love Languages- take a look at another Vanilla Bean blog that discusses how to apply each one- here.